Mochababe73's Blog











{August 16, 2010}   Jewels

When I first met my husband, I was obsessed with jewelry.  I couldn’t go to a mall without looking in the display windows.  My favorite gemstone of all time is the pearl. Classic, clean, and sophisticated.  Everything that I wanted to be.  My dream jewelry purchase is still a strand of classic Mikimoto pearls.

Then, I stopped.  I realized that while I loved jewelry, my obsession had waned, and I couldn’t understand why.  I realized that it was a way that my mother and I bonded.  When she died, the obsession died with me.  I had no other person in which to share my passion.  No one close to me loved it as much as I did.

Since then, I have yet to find my passion for it, and my mother died 15 years ago.  I own very few pieces and tend to wear the same thing everyday-my wedding ring and band, promise ring, Tiffany large heart tag bracelet, and a watch.  Since I wear clip ons and always lose them, I rarely wear earrings.  I have things from her that I treasure, and ever so often, I will open my jewelry box and look at them.  I can’t even bring myself to wear them.  Hopefully, one day, I will.

Anyway, I have decided to slowly make my way back to jewelry.  I have recently made a necklace with my own two hands.  This is a feat for someone who doesn’t consider herself to be a crafty person.  I want to replace a diamond tennis bracelet that was stolen from me.  My husband and I have been shopping for a replacement wedding ring.  I am also coveting a Rolex Datejust or Tag Heuer watch.

I love to wear a t-shirt or a tank top.  I own many styles and colors.  They can be dressed up or down.  And, that can be done easily with the right shoes, handbag, and, obviously, jewelry.

So, as I try to get my jewel mojo back, find yours.  You don’t have to spend megabucks on jewelry.  Just buy good quality and buy what you love.

Up next, my favorite shopping places.   Hopefully it will be up on tomorrow.  I start back to work, and I still have not done school shopping for myself or the children.  Backpacks, shoes, and supplies, OH MY!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
