Mochababe73's Blog











{July 18, 2010}   My Favorite Designers

With so many designers, how can a woman choose just one?  Truth be told, I am not loyal to any one designer.  I will buy anything from Target brand to big name designers.  What I wear depends on my mood and what I am doing for the day.  Money counts, too.

So, I paired down to four that I like. 

1.  Christian Dior.  Let me preface this by saying that I cannot afford one thing from Christian Dior, but who can argue that they make and design glamorous gowns.  John Galliano is a fashion genius, and I can’t get enough of him.  One thing that I can say is that I do own a vintage Dior cardigan and a pair of vintage sunglasses.  How can I get those on a teacher’s budget?  Well, that will come later when I reveal how to I get luxury items on my beer budget.

2.  Marchesa.  Fantasy gowns.  Georgina Chapman has done an amazing line, and these dresses are seen regularly on the red carpet.  I want to renew my vows with my husband, and my dream dress is a Marchesa.  I wore the Cinderella dress at the age of 23 when I married.  As a woman with a husband, two children, and a career, I will definitely wear something different.

3.  Ralph Lauren.  As I have written many times, I love classic, American style.  No one can argue that the Ralph Lauren collection epitomizes this.  I love everything about Ralph Lauren because the clothes can be used as a jumping off point to either dress up or dress down.  I choose RL over Brooks Brothers any day because it’s not as conservative.

4.  Michael Kors.  I saved the best for last.  Michael Kors is my favorite designer ever.  I own so much of his stuff and have been wearing it since before he was on Project Runway.  He is very much my aesthetic-classic American style with a twist.  Right now, as I type this, I am wearing a pink MK blouse.  My husband thinks that I may be single-handedly funding his empire.  I own clothes, shoes, jeans, sunglasses, and handbags.  I can’t get enough and am always on the hunt for anything MK.

Michael Kors deserved the Lifetime Achievement Award for the 2010 Council of Fashion Designers of America.

Next time, my obsession with handbags and my favorite handbag blogs. 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
