Mochababe73's Blog











{July 15, 2010}   My Style Inspirations

I’m back, as promised, to talk about my style inspirations and icons.

Basically, I read Isaac Mizrahi’s book on how to find your style.  My wonderful husband happened to meet him at the Mall of America where he was signing his book.  He stood in line (the only man) and got him to autograph the book and take a picture.  Boy, was I jealous.  I love my husband for doing that for me, but I digress.

The book really helped me, especially the part about making a bulletin board with whatever inspires you.  It’s a must read.

I get my inspiration from any and everything.  My board has grosgrain ribbons because I just love clean, classic American style.  There’s a picture of me in college in my favorite outfit.  There were also pictures of Dorothy Dandridge, Audrey Hepburn, Katherine Hepburn, and Marlene Deitrich.  Many, many other things are on there, and my board may change, but the basic premise remains the same.  I have discovered that I like classic dressing with a twist.

Now, my style icons.  I have discovered that I gravitate towards these four women:

1.  Halle Berry.  I had hair to my shoulders until the first time that I saw her.  Then, I cut my hair because I fell in love with her ‘do.  The cut was fun and sassy which pretty much describes me to a T.  She has great casual style and is stunning on the red carpet.

2.  Giovanna Battaglia.  Even though I am a fan of American style, I love the editor of L’Uomo Vogue. This woman has style oozing out of every pore.  The first time I laid eyes on her was on one of my favorite blogs-The Sartorialist.  She dresses really simple, but jazzes up her outfit with her accessories.  I live and breathe belts, shoes, and handbags. 

3.  Jennifer Aniston.  If anyone embodies American style, it’s Jennifer Aniston.  She is always flawless, and it doesn’t matter if she’s casual or dressed up.  For me, she never goes wrong.  Jennifer knows what works on her body and sticks to it.  And, she has a banging body.

4.  Kim Kardashian.  I know.  I know.  But I had to include her.  For so long, society has led us to believe that thin was the only way to be.  Then the next thing you know, here comes Jennifer Lopez, Beyonce, and Kim showing us to embrace our bodies.  Women have boobs, buns, thighs, and hips, and you know what, that’s okay.   I have all of these things.  Instead of killing myself to fit into a size 2, I eventually learned to embrace my body.  I eat right and try to exercise three days a week.  Aside from her body type, I love that Kim doesn’t go anywhere (including the gym) without being groomed within an inch of her life, and she makes no apologies for it.  She reminds me of my mother who would not allow us or herself to leave the house looking anything less than our best.

This is it for today.  I shared with you my style inspiration and my style icons.  Tomorrow, I will share my favorite designers.  You will be surprised.  It’s definitely an eclectic mix.

 

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
